Music to Your Ears – Weezer, Tegan and Sara, Jennifer Lopez and Deftones

So I skipped a week to take care of some of the Good Sports articles, but also so I could just give you a double dose of awesome: both Weezer and Deftones have returned with stellar new albums. Let’s begin:

 

Weezer – The White Album

Rivers Cuomo and co have gotten quite a bit of slack over the past few years and albums, as it seems as though the group simply stopped caring, churning out easily digestible power pop, weaving their way through money-making tour after tour. Well, I’d like to say I stuck by them through those ‘faker’ albums, and this newest self-titled “White Album” is definitely the best they’ve put out in a decade. Weezer is supposed to be fun, and this is a ton of fun. The lyrics have never been something to elevate, but here they’re much less obnoxious than they were in the Red Album or Hurley. The guitar and bass are so much improved that it makes the album. As the summer blooms, you’ll want to jam out to this at your next beach party or while working the grill.

Deftones – Gore

I admit, I’m not terribly familiar with this band’s work, though Cory is a big fan, so I wanted to check out their new stuff and determine if I’d enjoy it. As a matter of fact, despite this not being my typical style, I find the instrumentals mesmerizing and the atmosphere tantalizing. If you’re a fan of their previous work, I hope that this is much of the same, because this is pretty great stuff – at least as far as I can tell. It makes for good background music, or something to immerse yourself in as you drive. I can see why Cory likes it, it reminds me of some of Nine Inch Nails early stuff. So there you go?

 

Jennifer Lopez – Ain’t Your Mama

I have to admit, I expected better from Jenny from the Block at this point, but I turned it off halfway through. Garish lyrics, offbeat vocals and tempo, it was more annoying than anything else. I guarantee if this hits big, I’m changing the station faster than I do for that awful Twenty One Pilots song.

 

Tegan and Sara – Boyfriend

Now this, on the other hand, drove home a similar point with the quality of actually sounding melodic. The Quin sisters’ vocals always get to me, but the point of the song, while simple, is similar to J.Lo’s song in that they just want their lover to be real with them and show an ounce of respect. In this case, the softer tone is much more agreeable. I’m very much looking forward to their album in a few months.

 


Hope you all have a good week, we’ll return in a few weeks….because April looks dreadful for releases. Unless someone wants me to review Rob Zombie’s unwieldy titled The Electric Warlock Acid Witch Satanic Orgy Celebration DispenserComment below if you do!

Leave a Reply

