The 2017 Edgars Winners!

Well, that sure was an odd way to end the Oscars season! No worries here, we don’t utilize Pricewaterhousecoopers to keep our counts for the Edgar awards….it’s just Tristan.

Anyway, we have our official counts in and the big winner is Arrival, which won all five of its nominated awards – including Best Film, Best Drama Director (Denis Villeneuve), Best Drama Actress (Amy Adams) and Best Adapted Screenplay as well as Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy!

Tying it in wins is La La Land, which is great, but they’re more for technical achievements – Best Costumes, Best Art Direction, and of course Best Soundtrack – though it also unsurprisingly won Best Romance and Best Director (Comedy) for Damien Chazelle!

Manchester by the Sea complimented Arrival by winning Best Drama, Best Drama Actor (Casey Affleck) and Best Original Screenplay. In indies, it was a bit of a split, with Green Room taking Best Director (Jeremy Saulnier) and Best Supporting Actress (Alia Shawkat) while Sing Street stole Best Indie as well as Best Song for “Drive It Like You Stole It”. (La La Land must have split their songs’ votes!)

For the comedy section, The Nice Guys was the biggest winner, stealing that top award as well as Actor (Ryan Gosling). Sam Neill swiped Supporting Actor for his curmudgeonly role in Hunt for the Wilderpeople, which also nabbed Best Foreign Film, the second straight for New Zealand (Slow West). The biggest surprise was that Hailee Steinfeld beat down heavy competition for Best Actress in The Edge of Seventeen, while snubs included Fences (0) and Elle (0) while the leading nominee The Neon Demon only received one of its ten nominations (Supporting Actress – Abbey Lee).

The most poignant recipient is Alan Rickman, who won Best Indie Supporting Actor for his role in Eye in the Sky. He was up against a large amount of famous people for the Robin Williams Memorial Award, but that went to late addition Carrie Fisher. Her cinematic daughter Natalie Portman also became the winningest person in Edgars history, with her record 5th win for Best Indie Actress in Jackie. She’d previously won for Attack of the ClonesBlack SwanGarden State and Closer.


Here’s the full list of winners:


Best Film: Arrival



Best Drama: Manchester by the Sea
Best Director for Drama/Fantasy: Denis Villeneuve, Arrival
Best Actor in Drama/Fantasy: Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea
Best Actress in Drama/Fantasy: Amy Adams, Arrival
Best Supporting Actor in Drama/Fantasy: Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Nocturnal Animals
Best Supporting Actress in Drama/Fantasy: Abbey Lee, The Neon Demon



Best Comedy: The Nice Guys
Best Director for Comedy/Animated: Damien Chazelle, La La Land
Best Actor in Comedy: Ryan Gosling, The Nice Guys
Best Actress in Comedy: Hailee Steinfeld, The Edge of Seventeen
Best Supporting Actor in Comedy: Sam Neill, Hunt for the Wilderpeople
Best Supporting Actress in Comedy: Tilda Swinton, Hail, Caesar!



Best Animated Film: Zootopia
Best Voice Acting: Idris Elba, The Jungle Book
Worst Film: Fifty Shades of Black
Best Foreign Film: Hunt for the Wilderpeople, New Zealand
Best Documentary: Into the Inferno



Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy Film: Arrival
Best Horror Film: The Witch
Best Crime/Thriller: 10 Cloverfield Lane
Best Biographical/Historical Film: Jackie
Best Action/Adventure: Captain America: Civil War
Best Western: Hell or High Water
Best Romance: La La Land



Best Indie: Sing Street
Best Indie Director: Jeremy Saulnier, Green Room
Best Indie Actor: Viggo Mortensen, Captain Fantastic
Best Indie Actress: Natalie Portman, Jackie
Best Indie Supporting Actor: Alan Rickman, Eye in the Sky
Best Indie Supporting Actress: Alia Shawkat, Green Room



Best Adapted Screenplay:  Eric Heisserer, Arrival
Best Original Screenplay: Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester by the Sea
Best Soundtrack: Justin Hurwitz, La La Land
Best Song: “Drive It Like You Stole It” from Sing Street
Best Cinematography: James Laxton, Moonlight
Best Visual Effects: Stephane Ceretti, Richard Bluff, Vincent Cirelli and Paul Corbould-Doctor Strange
Best Art Direction: David Wasco, Austin Gorg and Sandy Reynolds, La La Land
Best Editing: Joi McMillon and Nat Sanders, Moonlight
Best Stunts: Mickey Giacomazzi, Sam Hargrave and Spiro Razatos-Captain America: Civil War
Best Costumes: Mary Zophres, La La Land
Best Makeup: Amy Byrne and Lisa Tomblin, Rogue One



Best Trailer: 10 Cloverfield Lane
Best Poster: Birth of a Nation
Best Cameo: Keanu Reeves, Keanu
Lorenzo Music Award: Audrie & Daisy
Richard Harris Lifetime Achievement Award: Doris Day (92 or 94)
Robin Williams Memorial Award: Carrie Fisher (1956-2016)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s