2018 Edgar Award Winners!

The word is in, and the word is winners! This, as in the winners of the 2018 Edgar Awards!

The major winner is Jordan Peele’s horror allegory Get Out, which takes home the big award, Best Picture. It also managed to get Best Horror, naturally, but those two wins make it one of the sparsest winners since 2001, when Vanilla Sky won Best Picture and only Best Picture.

We’ve nearly tied a record this year, as Blade Runner 2049 has emerged as the second biggest winner in a single year, nabbing eight – Best Supporting Actress in a Drama/Fantasy (Mackenzie Davis), Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy, Best Cinematography (Roger Deakins with his 4th win), Best Visual Effects, Best Art Direction, Best Poster and the Lorenzo Music Award (which is picked randomly by the Edgars committee). Previously, Lord of the Rings: Return of the King won nine times in 2003. No other film has won more than six.


Four films managed to win four awards:

Dunkirk – Best Director for Drama/Fantasy (Christopher Nolan-his first win in five nominations), Best Drama, Best Biographical/Historical and Best Sound
Logan – Best Actor in Drama/Fantasy (Hugh Jackman-his first win in five nominations), Best Supporting Actor in Drama/Fantasy (Patrick Stewart), Best Adapted Screenplay and Best Trailer
The Shape of Water – Best Actress in Drama/Fantasy (Sally Hawkins), Best Romance, Best Original Screenplay and Best Makeup
Baby Driver – Best Director of Comedy/Animated (Edgar Wright-his second win after Hot Fuzz), Best Soundtrack, Best Editing and Best Stunts

The Disaster Artist picked up two awards for Best Comedy and Best Actor (James Franco), while the other comedy acting winners included Saoirse Ronan (Lady Bird), Ray Romano (The Big Sick) and Allison Janney (I, Tonya).


The indie categories split between four winners – The Florida Project (Willem Dafoe), Ingrid Goes West (Aubrey Plaza), Mudbound (Mary J. Blige) and Call Me by Your Name (Michael Stuhlbarg). The last of those four also won Best Indie itself.

Featured awards include the Robin Williams Memorial Award, with this year’s recipient being Bill Paxton; the Richard Harris Lifetime Achievement Award was rewarded to Hayao Miyazaki; and the Hall of Fame inductees are Jurassic Park, Schindler’s List and It Happened One Night.

See the full list of winners below:

Best Picture-Get Out

Best Drama-Dunkirk
Best Director of a Drama/Fantasy-Christopher Nolan, Dunkirk
Best Actor in a Drama/Fantasy-Hugh Jackman, Logan
Best Actress in a Drama/Fantasy-Sally Hawkins, The Shape of Water
Best Supporting Actor in a Drama/Fantasy-Patrick Stewart, Logan
Best Supporting Actress in a Drama/Fantasy-Mackenzie Davis, Blade Runner 2049

Best Comedy-The Disaster Artist
Best Director of a Comedy-Edgar Wright, Baby Driver
Best Actor in a Comedy-James Franco, The Disaster Artist
Best Actress in a Comedy-Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird
Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy-Ray Romano, The Big Sick
Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy-Allison Janney, I, Tonya

Best Animated Film-Coco
Best Voice Acting-Michael Cera, The Lego Batman Movie
Best Foreign Film-It’s Only the End of the World, Canada
Best Documentary-Jane
Best Streaming Film-The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected)
Worst Film-The Emoji Movie

Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy-Blade Runner 2049
Best Horror-Get Out
Best Action/Adventure-Thor: Ragnarok
Best Crime/Thriller-Wind River
Best Biographical/Historical-Dunkirk
Best Romance-The Shape of Water
Best Western-Wind River

Best Indie-Call Me by Your Name
Best Indie Director-Ben & Joshua Safdie, Good Time
Best Indie Actor-Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project
Best Indie Actress-Aubrey Plaza, Ingrid Goes West
Best Indie Supporting Actor-Michael Stuhlbarg, Call Me by Your Name
Best Indie Supporting Actress-Mary J. Blige, Mudbound

Best Adapted Screenplay-Logan
Best Original Screenplay-The Shape of Water
Best Soundtrack-Baby Driver
Best Song-“Come Alive”, The Greatest Showman
Best Cinematography-Blade Runner 2049
Best Visual Effects-Blade Runner 2049
Best Art Direction-Blade Runner 2049
Best Editing-Baby Driver
Best Sound-Dunkirk
Best Stunts-Baby Driver
Best Costumes-Blade Runner 2049
Best Makeup-The Shape of Water

Best Trailer-Logan
Best Poster-Blade Runner 2049
Best Cameo-Frank Oz, Star Wars: The Last Jedi
Robin Williams Memorial Award-Bill Paxton
Richard Harris Lifetime Achievement Award-Hayao Miyazaki
Lorenzo Music Award-Blade Runner 2049
Hall of Fame-Jurassic Park, Schindler’s List, It Happened One Night


Thanks again to everyone who voted this year, and we all look forward to a wonderful 2018! See you next awards season!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s